Prayer Calendar

Monday 19th October

May people come together to learn of each other’s lives and actions.

Pray that we may support each other in this way.

Tuesday 20th October 

May learning and listening help towards global justice in this country and in faraway places.

Pilgrimage of Prayer for World Peace in Loughborough today.

Wednesday 21st October

Many people from all backgrounds and places seek to find justice and promote learning that we all belong to the same world.

Thursday 22nd October

If you can find a globe, or a map, touch areas of the world as you pray.

Friday 23rd October

Lead me from death to life, from falsehood to truth. Lead me from despair to hope, from fear to trust.

Lead me from hate to love, from war to peace. Let peace fill our hearts, our world, our universe.

Saturday 24th October   United Nations Day We pray for the work of the U.N. in all its activity to promote peace, deliver aid and to seek to bring nations together in harmony.

Sunday 25th October

At the end of One World Week we continue to pray for peace in our troubled world. Our worship is led by Rev. Margaret Taylor

Monday 26th October    WATER-AID

We focus our prayers on the work achieved by Water-Aid.  For the first time 9 out of 10 people in the world can have clean water. But many will still die from diseases caused by dirty water and poor sanitation.

Tuesday 27th October

Hand washing has become a crucial defence against disease. Pray for all who are not able to do this although Water-Aid has stepped in wherever possible with several solutions.

Wednesday 28th October

In Madagascar a local school was disinfected by Water-Aid to provide a safety house for more than a 1000 people. Hygiene is promoted through T. V. channels and Radio shows. 

Thursday 29th October

Water-Aid has trained a health worker to work in the slums in Kampala, Uganda to help promote hygiene, hand-washing and cleaner toilets.

Friday 30th October

We give thanks for the work done by our Elders as we move through this period of careful planning and anxiety.

Saturday 31st October At the end of the month when we have focused on the needs of the world – now we pray for our family, friends and neighbours.

This prayer calendar is prepared by Margaret Jolley, with thanks to Daphne.

Church copyright licence no 4536